Tuesday , 20 October 2020
Home » About Us » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Chair Person – Ms. Mtumwa Khatib Ameir

Ms. Mtumwa is a lawyer by profession. She was appointed as the Chairperson of the Board of Directors of ZAWA in 2009 while working as the Chief Executive Office at the Office of Copyright Society Zanzibar from 2005 to date. She also served as coordinator Sara Communication Initiatives Zanzibar in 1998-2001. She is very competent in management. She is a holder of Master Degree in Intellectual Property (MIP).

Member and Director General – Dr. Mustafa Ali Garu

Mr. Mustafa, an ex-officer of Board of Directors, is an Engineer by profession. He was appointed as the Director General of ZAWA in 2010. Prior to this appointment, he was Assistant Director of Estates Zanzibar Free Economic Zones Authority (ZAFREZA) Ministry of Finance President’s office, the Chief Engineer in the Ministry of Education and Vocational Training Zanzibar from 2009 -2010 and also served as the Senior Instructor at Karume Institute of Sciences and Technology (KIST). Mr. Garu is a holder of PhD, he is very competent in Hydraulics and Structures, in all his positions he served in a management level.

Zainab Khamis Shomari – Member

Ms. Zanab is a holder of certificate for Medical Laboratory Assistant obtained in 2001. Other qualifications held by her are Diploma in Public Relation in 2005. She has also taken various courses of advanced computer, training for leadership of women representative, basic computer training programe for women members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives in lobbying, fundraising, computer management, public speaking and media relations, training for women MPs in the planning and budgeting process of the central and local governments, both in 2005. Former, she was the Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Social Welfare from 2000-2004 and the Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Labor, Youth, Women and Children Development from 2004-2005. During 2000 to 2005, she was a member of Zanzibar House of Representatives. Currently, Ms. Zainab is a member of National General Assemble of CCM in the South Region of Pemba and a Board member of Zanzibar Investment Promotion (ZIPA). She has been appointed as a board member of ZAWA in 2009 to date.

Mr. Makame Khamis Kombo – Member

Mr. Makame is an army and politician by profession. He was appointed as a board member of ZAWA in 2013 to date. In 1964 he was an army officer of JWTZ and took a course of the Military Academy in USSR from 1965 to 1967. From 1977 to 1980 and from 1985 to 2000, he was appointed as a member of Parliament. Former he was the Minister of Finance of the Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar from 1978 to 1980. He also served as a regional commissioner of North Unguja from 2001 to 2005. Currently he is a member of National Electoral Committee (NEC) CCM.

Yussuf Suleiman Khalfan – Member

Mr. Yussuf is a lawyer by profession and he is working as a Lawyer in the Ministry of Water, Construction, Energy and Land in the Department of Housing and Development from 2005 to date. Mr. Yussuf also is an Advocate of Zanzibar High Court since 2006 to now. He took various courses of Diploma in Leadership, South Africa in 2000, Certificate in Intellectual Property Laws, Swiss in 2006 and Diploma in Community Development, South Africa in 2008. Mr. Yussuf is a member of Advocate International Tanzania, Advocate Africa Tanzania Branch and East Africa Law Society Zanzibar. He has been appointed a board member of Zanzibar Water Authority in 2009 to date. He is a holder of Bachelor of Law.